Montenegro: Geography

Montenegro is located in the south-east of Europe, on the Adriatic shore being a part of Balkan Peninsula. The country is washed by the Adriatic Sea. It borders with Croatia in the set, with Bosnia and Herzegovina in the north-west, with Serbia in the north-east, with Kosovo in the east, and with Albania in the south-east.


The capital of Montenegro is Tsetine. Podgoritsa is considered its main city.


The state territory is conditionally divided into 3 parts: the mountain systems located in the east, predominantly plain center with two large cities – Nikshich and Podgoritsa, and the coast of the Adriatic Sea.


The coastline of the country is about 300 kilometers. Montenegro includes fourteen Sea Islands with the total distance of coastlines equal to 15.6 kilometers. In the north-west direction there is one of the largest gulfs – Boka Kotorska with the water surface area equal to 87.3 km2. In the southern direction there are small gulfs Zhukovats-Luka and Trashte. Near Budva there are Mala-Luka, Yazi-Luka and Trsteno-Luka bays. Sea resorts are situated in Budva Riviera. Montenegro beaches have a distance of 73 kilometers.


There are many rivers in the country; most of them are mountain ones. They often form canyons. Canyon of the Tara River is considered the deepest in Europe and the second in depth in the world.


About 41% of the state area is covered with woodland areas and forests, and 39.58% of the area is covered with grasslands.


Montenegro is the best place for amateurs of eco tourism. It will please and impress everyone with its attractions all year round – world famous canyon of the Tara River, Lake Scutari, Lovchen and Biogradsk Mountains, Durmitor mountain mass famous for ice lakes as well as one of high points of the country – Bobotov Cook Peak. Tourist can enjoy viewing local beauties and diversify their leisure time by outdoor activities: climb one of the peaks, raft along one of the mountain rivers or fish at the lake.


According to the Constitution, Montenegro is declared to be an “ecological country”. About 8.1% of its territory is subject to different environmental regimes (including National Nature Reserves of Lovchen, Durmitor, Lake Scutari, Biogradsk Mountain, and Prokletye).